Journal

Word Meter

I’ve added a word meter (which I found here) to my blog to keep you updated on my progress. I feel more comfortable doing that than including a countdown to my birthday, which is when I’d like to have it done. Although it began to feel a little ominous and restricting because at the rate I’m writing it’s looking like even the 8th of July is a little too optimistic.

I had a lot of fun last night when I came across a folder of different sketches and inspiring images for my story, and while watching The Silver Linings Playbook I set to work, adding them to my sketch book so that all that visual stuff is in one place. I wish I had a good camera so I could show you a little of what it looks like, aside from the character sketches I’ve already posted on here. I think the camera on my mum’s Blackberry is pretty good, so I might try that.

And I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this, but I’ve made a weekly plan to set in my writing times. I think I’ll have to rearrange it though, because I’m finding that I don’t stick to it, preferring to write in the afternoons than the mornings. I’ve also set myself a minimum word limit to kick-start my writing again: a measly 700 words. Yesterday, I only managed to write 330 and that was around 8 or 9 o’clock. 700 can be easy, but it can also be fuck—oh, shit! My tea!

Leave a Reply

