Journal / My book

Fun Fact No. 1

“Whore pipe” is Victorian slang for penis.

Ah 🙂 Love it.

I come across lots of funny words in research for my book. Some I’ll use; some I won’t. I’ll see if I can work this one in, but I probably won’t be able to; at least not for a while. But there are so many words like that, that I just love and find so funny and weird and derogatory and gross, and instead of just keeping them to myself after a little laugh, or sending them to my brother, I think I’ll post them on here for all to enjoy.

Also, did you know that in the 1800’s, the word “doubt” meant something completely different? Opposite, in fact.

To say, “I doubt I love you,” now would be to say, “I don’t think I love you.”

Well, in Victorian times, you’d actually be saying, “I think I love you.”

All together, now: Whoooaaa…!

I know.

Leave a Reply

